(Originally posted at the DY Homeschool Forum.  Original comments left there.) 

It’s a good thing I didn’t donate during the blood drive yesterday. My 10 day long headache/scratchy throat that I thought I was getting over hit me hard by dinner time. I hit the couch at 6:30 and stayed there until I went to bed. I tried to nap while the kids watched videos (DH was at the blood drive and didn’t get home until 8:45), but DS6 kept crawling up on me, trying to lay next to me, played with my earings, my lips, my nose…you get the idea. It’s a good thing he’s cute.

I went to bed, got what I thought was a good night’s sleep, and woke up this morning feeling like a truck hit me. bonk.gif Called the doc, but they were booked. They actually asked me what I thought the problem was. I think it’s a sinus infection (my eyes and teeth have been aching all along with my head, even though until today I had little congestion), so they called in an Rx to the pharmacy. I’ve never done that (get an antibiotic with the doc seeing me), but I felt so miserable, and knew I couldn’t wait until Monday, so I got it. I hope I’ll feel well enough to go to church in the morning.

School…went pretty well this week. I’ve been using the writable PDF from Donna’s CD the past two weeks, and I like that much better than handwriting everything. We missed a couple of lessons, but did ok. (My headache has not helped things.) I really need to work more on art and music with them, too. whistling.gif

All this talk on the boards of choosing curriculum for next year has me thinking. I never thought about it this early. I have to see if there’s a curriculum fair anywhere near me this year. I really want to look at some 7th grade math options for my daughter. She’s been having some problems with Saxon lately, and I don’t know if it’s the method, distractions, or that she just doesn’t like math. She gets the lesson questions right, but continues to make mistakes in the mixed practice, many of them careless. I need to take a closer look and actually log the types of questions she’s getting wrong and see if there’s a pattern.

Gotta get ready for bed. 6:15 comes early! yawn.gif

