(You might want to scroll down for a moment and pause the SongSpot on my blog.  Down there on the left.  Go ahead; I’ll wait.wink)

Remember this?:

A couple of weeks ago I came across the first season of Speed Racer on DVD at my local library.  Always on the lookout for ways to share the finer things in life with my children, I, of course, whipped out my library card and took that baby home. 

I LOVED Speed Racer as a kid.  LOVED it.  You can imagine my delight when my children (ages 6, 10, and 12) became hooked!  I’m so proud of them!  ::sniff sniff::

Well, then, I had no other choice but to head off to ebay…and purchase the entire series (52 episodes) on DVD.  We got it last week.  We’ve been watching Speed Racer daily since.  I expected DS6, who is obsessed with NASCAR to get into it, but even my other kids are playing the characters on their own time.  My daughter is even renaming some of her horse-rider action figures.icon_lol.gif  I love it! 

A little googling revealed that filming has begun on a new live action Speed Racer movie.icon_eek.gif  That’s right, folks!  The Wachowski brothers, who brought us The Matrix trilogy and V for Vendetta are busy bringing Speed, Trixie, Racer X, and the rest of the gang to life for us.  That means Speed Racer is either going to be really cool…or really creepy.  I am so hoping for cool.  I have good feelings about it based on this little gem posted on youtube:

Look at that Mach 5!!  No buttons on the wheel…don’t know what’s up with that, but is that not just the coolest car?!?   I can’t wait!! 😀

And just in case you didn’t already know, Speed Racer was originally Mach Go Go Go in Japan.  Check this out:

Can you tell I’ve been spending too much time at youtube?icon_lol.gif  Go ahead and do a search there on your favorite character from your childhood and see how much time you lose!  DD12, DS6, and I lost half an hour the other day to Ultraman.  I’m dyin! rollin’

Taking a tip from CCwink, I’m going to end with a question:

Did you have a favorite cartoon/kid’s show when you were little?

