There’s a meme going through our little blog circle about how we got started in homeschooling. Michielle tagged me.icon_biggrin.gif

Some families spend a lot of time wrestling with the idea of homeschooling.  I’ve often heard stories of one parent having to convince the other.  I was fortunate: both my husband and I were interested in homeschooling before we even started dating.  There were no arguments, no debates, no deals to be made.  We both wanted to do it from the start, so we knew we at least had to try. 

Our first exposure to homeschoolers came through a family we knew from the Bible Study where we had met each other.  They were so cool.  Radically on fire for Jesus; very creative; lots of fun.icon_biggrin.gif

We like radical.  So, as I’ve said, we knew we had to try.  God, in His infinite wisdom and mercy led us to a church with a homeschooling pastor.  Another homeschool family joined the church.  By the time our first child was old enough to start “officially” there were several homeschooling families in our church.thumbsup

I never thought kindergarten could be so frightening.icon_eek.gif  OK, it wasn’t the curriculum, it was the thought of taking my child’s education into my own hands.  What on earth was I doing?  What if I screwed up?  Am I out of my mind?!?

Let’s be honest here, homeschooling is not for the faint of heart.

Then one day it hit me.  This is kindergarten, not rocket science.  DD knew the basics to start with, so we were already ahead of the game.  How much could I screw up kindergarten?  That same child will start 7th grade later this summer.  I taught her how to read. 

I need to write that again. 

I taught her how to read. 

I taught DS10 how to read. 

I’m teaching DS6 how to read. 

They love to read. 

Now, how rewarding is that? icon_biggrin.gif 

It’s so simple a thing, yet so very fundamental to how they will function for the rest of their lives.  Of course, there is another thing more important for the rest of their lives, and that’s their relationship with Christ. 

There are many reasons that we homeschool (have you seen a newscast lately?), but the main reason is a matter of faith.  They will be exposed to many different worldviews as they get older; now is the time to ground them in truth.  Now is the time to teach them that God isn’t just someone we visit on Sundays.  Learning (“school”) is about studying God’s creation, His orderliness, His unfolding plan for mankind.  All of that can be discovered in literature, science, math, history, art, music, etc.  This is my Father’s world…

I know you can teach those things without homeschooling, but homeschooling meets the needs of my children, and the needs of our family.  It works for us.thumbsup

Many of you have been tagged by other folks, but there are a few who haven’t written yet.  So, even if you’ve been tagged, I’m tagging you again.  Donna Michelle, Beth, Kenetha, you’re IT!razz  

