This evening our church held its annual Thanksgiving Dinner.  This is usually a well attended event (80 – 100 people), with the usual holiday yummies.  Tonight, however, was a little different.  First, there were significantly more people: approx. 150. icon_eek.gif  Tonight we also held our (first annual?) Gong Show.  Yep, a Thanksgiving Dinner and Gong Show.  We’re a pretty fun group for a bunch of Presbyterians. 😉

There were some typical “Gong Show” types of acts: a Karate demonstration, a couple of comedy acts (including a first grader who could purp his ABCs!), some singing and other musical acts by adults and children alike. 

My proud moments?  My DD12 and DS10 won First and Second Place, respectively! happy dance   DD won for reading two poems she had written.  Good stuff! thumbsup.gif  DS won for singing “Frere Jacques” in French and English.  By himself.  A cappella.  Into a mic.  In front of nearly 150 people.  He did great!  DD was pretty calm, but DS was so nervous.  He told me, “I have BIG butterflies in my stomach!” before he went up.  But he sang in full voice and didn’t shy away from the mic (which was surprisingly hot). I’m really proud of my normally shy 10 year old son.   I’m really proud of both of them!  sweetheart.gif

The Third Place winner was also a homeschooler.  He played the theme from Voyager on the piano.   Hmmm……All the winners were homeschoolers.  I thought we were supposed to be unsocialized and backward? icon_lol.gif  (For the record, I’ve never gotten that vibe from anyone at my church. thumbsup.gif )

