So, it takes something like this to bring me back to my blog.  

I love my coffee.  I’m not a coffee-snob: a good cuppa joe with half and half is all it takes to make me happy.  I need my four cups every morning, and from time to time, extra later in the day. 

But this totally freaked me out. 

Cafe au Bat? Woman Treated for Rabies After Finding Bat in Coffee Filter

It’s a short story; I’ll just post it here:

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa  —  It wasn’t just the caffeine that gave an Iowa woman an extra jolt after she had her morning coffee. It was also the bat she found in the filter.

The Iowa Department of Public Health says the woman reported a bat in her house but wasn’t too worried about it. She turned on her automatic coffee maker before bedtime and drank her coffee the next morning.

She discovered the bat in the filter when she went to clean it that night. The woman has undergone treatment for possible rabies.

Health officials say that the bat was sent to a lab but that its brain was too cooked by the hot water to determine whether it had rabies.

Help me out here, folks.  How the heck did a bat get in the coffee filter?  How did the woman not notice the “essense of bat” in her coffee?  How did she go to bed at night not concerned that there was a bat in her house in the first place?!?  Don’t get me wrong; I like bats.  I’m not into bat collectibles or anything like that, but how can you not like a creature that can eat thousands of bugs in a day?  Sweet creatures, in spite of their bad reputation.  But, I wouldn’t climb into bed at night unconcerned about one in my house.

OH…and that last part…the bat’s brain was too cooked by the hot water to determine whether or not it had rabies.  Oh please. 

So, here I sit, morning coffee within reach and pondering the imponderable…bats in my coffee.

::shudder::

